AmiKit - Your Modern Retro Experience
  Begin Register Reply Search Statistics AmiKit X  QuickGuide  SATISFIED WITH OUR SUPPORT? 
Online now: Guests - 1
Members - 0
Most users ever online: 191 [17 Oct 2019 17:54]
Guests - 191 / Members - 0
Specific questions AmiKit Support Forum / Specific questions /  

Amikit very slow

Author Andrew
Partaker
#1 Posted: 6 Dec 2009 04:35 Edited by: Andrew 
Hi

I'm new to Amikit but not quite so to Amigas /emulation. I have installed Amikit 1.5 with Amiga OS 3.9 CD and have opted for the Magellan install. I have used WinUAE on my current PC with Zero slowdown problems whatsoever. However I seem to get VERY slow graphics and a mouse trail when trying to use Amikit

Trying to run in 1280x1024. it boots fine, but trying to "do anything" is horribly slow. Surely it can't be my PC ?

Specs:

Intel QX6850 Quad core Extreme @ 3.0
4.0 GB Ram
2xWD raptor 150 GB in Raid 0
Ati Radeon 3870 x2 Graphics
Windows 7 Ultimate x64

So it must be some setting in winuae or Amikit (I've replaced the winuae.exe included with the Amikit package with latest and get same symptoms with both) and set up a "reasonable config", I cant even install the boingbags for 3.9 as the slowness/graphics corruption means I can barely see dialogue boxes when they appear.

.... what am I missing ?

Thanks

Andrew

Author AmiKit
Admin
#2 Posted: 6 Dec 2009 09:42 Edited by: AmiKit 
Hi Andrew and welcome to AmiKit.

There are 5 usual possible slowdown causes:

* bad powersaving driver, it causes timer that WinUAE uses to return bogus values. Basically AMD-only issue, make sure bios is latest and Cool'n'Quiet driver is up to date, or disabled.

* CPU Idle setting in CPU-panel set too high. 1 or 2 step from left is good test setting.

* Priority in priority-panel set to High. In some cases Normal can cause similar problems, usually only when CPU Idle is disabled. Try "Low". (low does not mean low emulation speed)