AmiKit - Your Modern Retro Experience
  Begin Register Reply Search Statistics AmiKit X  QuickGuide  SATISFIED WITH OUR SUPPORT? 
Online now: Guests - 4
Members - 0
Most users ever online: 605 [18 Apr 2019 18:52]
Guests - 605 / Members - 0
Basic questions, I am new here AmiKit Support Forum / Basic questions, I am new here /  

WHDLoad

Author mmace
Partaker
#1 Posted: 1 Feb 2008 12:34 
OK, I've been away from the Amiga for years, but am back thanks to Amikit

It's about 10 years since I put a game on the HDD using WHDLoad (on my real amiga PPC)

how do I do it with Amikit?
I've put some LHA's on the desktop that have the loader inside for some games (which I've loaded into the floppy drive in WinUAE)
I double click Install and nothing happens

any ideas?

thanks in advance

sorry for being so rusty, I used to be an expert on the Amiga but I've been away too long and got used to Windows & Mac!

Author AmiKit
Admin
#2 Posted: 1 Feb 2008 13:08 Edited by: AmiKit 
Not a problem.

Based on your description I think you did not unpack the whole installation archive. Yes, it is possible to doubleclick the archive. In this case a new window appears displaying the content of the archive. In this window you can even doubleclick and run files. But such a doubleclicked file is extracted to temporary folder and it is run from there. This means if such a files want to call another file that was part of the archive, such a call fails because the called file was not extracted to the temporary folder, you know.

First of all, download the latest WHDLoad installer archive for the given game from http://whdload.de/download.html

Once the archive is downloaded please check the tutorial videos how to unpack the archive.