AmiKit - Your Modern Retro Experience
  Begin Register Reply Search Statistics AmiKit X  QuickGuide  SATISFIED WITH OUR SUPPORT? 
Online now: Guests - 1
Members - 0
Most users ever online: 605 [18 Apr 2019 18:52]
Guests - 605 / Members - 0
Basic questions, I am new here AmiKit Support Forum / Basic questions, I am new here /  

Run from USB?

Author mmace
Partaker
#1 Posted: 31 Jan 2008 14:35 
Hi, I'm new to this, but I'm wanting to know if I can run everything from a USB stick?
I'm wanting to be able to run this at work as well as on 2 home PC's but want any changes I make to go with me

can anyone tell me how to do this?

I cannot install anything on my work PC but I can run things on there (for example I use a portable version of photoshop, dreamweaver, powerDVD & nero, it doesn't install anything but I can still run them)

thanks in advance for any help

Author wiser3
Partaker
#2 Posted: 31 Jan 2008 14:54 
I have AmiKit running happily from my USB stick. I use it at work, where i also can't install stuff, and at friends houses.

I did have one little problem getting it to work. Read this thread for the fix:
http://amikit.amiga.sk/forum/index.php?action=vthread&forum=3&topic=39 2

Author AmiKit
Admin
#3 Posted: 31 Jan 2008 15:30 Edited by: AmiKit 
All you need is to copy the already-installed AmiKit folder (eg. C:\Program Files\AmiKit\) from your home PC to USB flash disk. Then you should be able to run AmiKit.exe launcher from USB. Or you can run WinUAE.exe (located in AmiKit\WinUAE folder), load the AmiKit config and run it if the launcher doesn't work.

The step by step guide can be found in this PDF document: Optimizing the AmiKit.
Note that the document is almost a year old which means you don't need to install any cumulative updates. The current full AmiKit version available for download is v1.4.0