AmiKit - Your Modern Retro Experience
  Forums Register Reply Search Statistics AmiKit X  QuickGuide  SATISFIED WITH OUR SUPPORT? 
Online now: Guests - 1
Members - 0
Most users ever online: 123 [22 Apr 2016 12:58]
Guests - 123 / Members - 0
I have a basic question, I am new here AmiKit Support Forum / I have a basic question, I am new here /  

Need help installing WHDLOADER

Author camberiu
Partaker
#1 Posted: 9 Mar 2016 15:08 
As a child, I've always wanted an AMIGA, but was too poor to afford one. Now that I have the money and the time to fulfill this old dream, I've decide to take a stab at it, but now I am stuck. Hopefully someone here can lend a hand. Please remember that I have never used an Amiga before, so even basic things like copying or renaming files might be completely new to me.

Just installed the 3.9 OS on my PC, using AMIKIT. Everything works fine, but being completely new to the AMIGA, I have no idea whatsoever on how to install WHDLOAD (or any other program for that matter) on the AMIGA. Is there any step by step tutorial on how to do that? Thanks in advance.

Author AmiKit
Admin
#2 Posted: 9 Mar 2016 23:10 Edited by: AmiKit 
Hi and welcome to the Amiga world!

We were lucky that we were two brothers so we used double power in convincing our parents to buy us an Amiga 500. Our first Amiga game was Vroom. I still remember the feeling and hear the sounds

Okay, there's WHDLoad already pre-installed in AmiKit. There already are some games pre-installed too. For example Deluxe Galaga is one of my favourite.

Basically what WHDLoad does is that it allows you to launch old games from Workbench. The Workbench is a name of Amiga Operating System, like eg. Windows. Back in the times most of the games were designed to boot from floppy disks and they did not need the Workbench at all. Moreover, they did not work when launched from Workbench. This is where WHDload helps.