Your high-end Amiga!AmiKit turns your PC into high-end Classic Amiga environment! 
Welcome to AmiKit Support Forum!

(Click here for main AmiKit website)
none
 
  Forums Search Register Reply Statistics FAQ  DONATE 
I have Linux specific question AmiKit Support Forum / I have Linux specific question /

Amikit will not run GLX visual problems

Author swift240
Registered
#1 Posted: 25 Dec 2008 23:37 
Hi all using Ubuntu 8.04 with all updates.
I have Installed Amikit with no problems.

BUT,
When trying to run Amikit I get this error.

Unable to set video mode: Couldnt find matching GLX visual

I am stuck no idea what do to.
Any help please?

TIA,

Mike.

Author AmiKit
Admin
#2 Posted: 26 Dec 2008 00:40 
Hmm, have you managed to get through the installation of system files too? If so, what screen mode have you selected at the end of the installation?

Author swift240
Registered
#3 Posted: 26 Dec 2008 00:45 
There isnt any screen mode to choose from what i have?

Where would that be I wander?

Author AmiKit
Admin
#4 Posted: 26 Dec 2008 00:53 
Okay, there are two installations actually. The first and initial one is the installation of the AmiKit files onto your harddisk. The second installation takes place when you run the AmiKit emulation for the first time. It asks you for the source of the system files and then, at the end of this installation, the screen mode requester appears.

Does it mean that the error message you described appears as soon as you try to run the AmiKit emulation for the first time?

Author swift240
Registered
#5 Posted: 26 Dec 2008 00:54 
yes first time, there is no screen resolution requester at all.

Author swift240
Registered
#6 Posted: 26 Dec 2008 00:57 
WHat i see is this :-

Floppy discs, memory, CPU, chipset, sound, jit, game ports, harddiscs, about.


Nothing else the ROM is there not a problem.

Author Slider
Moderator
#7 Posted: 26 Dec 2008 09:24 
First run euae in a terminal session. You should see SDL output a list of avaiailable scrreenmodes. For example, when I run euae in a terminal It spits out this:
SDLGFX: Initialized.
SDLGFX: Using SDL version 1.2.13.
SDLGFX: Display is 32 bits deep.
SDLGFX: Found screenmode: 1440x900.
SDLGFX: Found screenmode: 1280x1024.
SDLGFX: Found screenmode: 1280x960.
SDLGFX: Found screenmode: 1024x768.
SDLGFX: Found screenmode: 800x600.
SDLGFX: Found screenmode: 800x512.
SDLGFX: Found screenmode: 700x525.
SDLGFX: Found screenmode: 640x512.
SDLGFX: Found screenmode: 640x480.
SDLGFX: Found screenmode: 512x384.
SDLGFX: Found screenmode: 400x300.
SDLGFX: Found screenmode: 320x240.

If that is not shown then the problem is either SDL is not installed or there is something missing from your Xorg setup. Are you using nVidia or ATI graphics? Binary driver or the Xorg ones?

Author swift240
Registered
#8 Posted: 26 Dec 2008 23:13 
I done that and I got this:-

E-UAE 0.8.29-WIP4
Build date: Mar 27 2007 21:53:04
SDLGFX: Initialized.
SDLGFX: Using SDL version 1.2.12.
SDLGFX: Display is 32 bits deep.
SDLGFX: Found screenmode: 1280x1024.
SDLGFX: Found screenmode: 1152x864.
SDLGFX: Found screenmode: 1024x768.
SDLGFX: Found screenmode: 800x600.
SDLGFX: Found screenmode: 720x400.
SDLGFX: Found screenmode: 640x480.
Found 1 joystick(s)
Found x11pc raw keyboard mapping
Using cooked keymap
Opening cfgfile '/home/mike/.uaerc'...okay.
Opening cfgfile '/home/mike/Amiga-AmiKit/configs/amikit.euaerc'...okay.
unknown config entry: 'x86.use.tsc=no'
Testing the RDTSC instruction ... done.
TSC frequency: 2016.000000 MHz
Found x11pc raw keyboard mapping
Using raw keymap

Author swift240
Registered
#9 Posted: 4 Jan 2009 16:34 
Ok I got past that problem.
I now got the start up screen box that asks me for what language I need to use.

I see the red arrow inside the box but when I try to put my mouse inside the box it dont go there.
I can not get inside that box at all.

Any help please?
TIA,
Mike.

Author Slider
Moderator
#10 Posted: 5 Jan 2009 06:58 
I see the red arrow inside the box but when I try to put my mouse inside the box it dont go there.
I can not get inside that box at all.

Try this. Move the real mouse pointer to the bottom right corner and off the EUAE window. Then move it back on at exactly the same place. This should realign the real mouse pointer with the EUAE/Amiga one. You should then be able to hit that button. You may need to do this every time you start the emulation.

Why this happens or why this work-around is needed I do not know. It could be a bug in EUAE or AmiKit or even the emulated Amiga but whatever is causing it the fix above works for me.

Author ness62
Registered
#11 Posted: 16 Jan 2009 00:28 
Why this happens or why this work-around is needed I do not know. It could be a bug in EUAE or AmiKit or even the emulated Amiga but whatever is causing it the fix above works for me.
-------------------------------------------------------
it is not Bug Amikit, problem is E-uae. Mouse pointer,Mode full screen it is ok

I have Linux specific question AmiKit Support Forum / I have Linux specific question / Amikit will not run GLX visual problems Top
Your Reply Click this icon to move up to the quoted message
 

 ?
Only registered users are allowed to post here. Please, enter your username/password details upon posting a message, or register first.
 
Online now: Guests - 1
Members - 0
Most users ever online: 123 [22 Apr 2016 12:58]
Guests - 123 / Members - 0