Your high-end Amiga!AmiKit turns your PC into high-end Classic Amiga environment! 
Welcome to AmiKit Support Forum!

(Click here for main AmiKit website)
none
 
  Forums Search Register Reply Statistics FAQ  DONATE 
I have Linux specific question AmiKit Support Forum / I have Linux specific question /

WinUAE and E-AUE on Intel Platform

Author shakenfr
Registered
#1 Posted: 15 May 2008 08:04 
Hello,

I use Amikit on the same PC (Intel Core 2 Duo 7500 - Asus G1S Laptop). One Amikit is under Vista Home 32 bits and another is under Linux Mandriva 2008 Spring 64bits and E-UAE 0.8.29WIP4 (last release). What can explain that E-UAE has so bad performance. Only the WinUAE version under Vista is really usable. E-UAE under linux is almost unusabled and I don't understand why. Is It due to GCC ? other reason ?

best
Bruno

Author Slider
Moderator
#2 Posted: 15 May 2008 08:43 Edited by: Slider 
While I would not classify e-uae on 64 bit Linux as slow there is one thing that does slow the Linux 64 bit e-uae down.

64 bit e-uae on Linux has no JIT which I believe neither does Winuae on 64 bit systems. You mention you are using a 32 bit Vista and a 64 bit Mandrake. So, right there is the major slowdown you are seeing between the two systems.

For those using a 32 bit Linux OS on a 64 bit CPU then the same will be seen as e-uae will detect the 64 bit CPU and disable JIT at runtime.

Author shakenfr
Registered
#3 Posted: 15 May 2008 09:37 
The only way for using e-uae on linux with 64bits processeurs (the most current today) seems to wait for a great new version with 64bits JIT.

Today It means (I will test it) that e-uae could be faster on my Asus EEPC (Xandros 32 bits with a little Celeron 32 bits because it will use JIT) than on my Asus G1S (Mandriva 64bits with core 2 duo 64 bits) ??!!

Author Slider
Moderator
#4 Posted: 15 May 2008 10:26 
If you use a 32bit CPU and a 32bit e-uae then yes you will be able to use JIT.

As for waiting for a 64bit JIT. Yes.

Author Toni Wilen
Moderator
#5 Posted: 16 May 2008 20:46 
32-bit UAE with JIT should work on 64-bit OS. (perhaps only 64-bit detection is wrong..)

WinUAE does work with JIT on 64-bit Windows. I have been using Windows XP x64 since it was released years ago..

There is 64-bit JIT in Basilisk II but merging won't be trivial (and I am not sure if it is 100% Amiga-compatible)

I have Linux specific question AmiKit Support Forum / I have Linux specific question / WinUAE and E-AUE on Intel Platform Top
Your Reply Click this icon to move up to the quoted message
 

 ?
Only registered users are allowed to post here. Please, enter your username/password details upon posting a message, or register first.
 
Online now: Guests - 2
Members - 1 [ AmiKit ]
Most users ever online: 123 [22 Apr 2016 12:58]
Guests - 123 / Members - 0